Services by Country

NCC Certification

Since its establishment on 22 February 2006, the National Communications Commission has been the competent authority for the regulation of telecommunications and broadcasting services and the resulting NCC certification. Originally, this authority belonged to both the Directorate General of Telecommunications and the Department of Broadcasting Affairs of the Government Information Office; the merged mandate of the NCC is a milestone that indicates the beginning of digital convergence.

Currently, 17 types of products such as radios, cellular infrastructure, radios of all types, telecom infrastructure, LMDS equipment, radio beacons, satellite earth stations, POTS splitters, DS1 technology, fibre optic technology, ISDN and public switched telephone network equipment have to be certified with NCC.

First, product tests must be carried out in Taiwan in accordance with Taiwanese standards. The application documents are then submitted together with the test report. After receiving the NCC certificate, it must then be marked with the NCC logo.

The most important facts about NCC certification

Application documents
months minimum duration
minimum costs

What is the NCC certification for?

You can also find detailed information under the product search, but the following overview already shows you here the compulsorily affected products:

  • Low power radio frequency devices
  • 1.6GHz and 2.4GHz satellite personal communications networks
  • Mobile earth stations
  • 2.4GHz high-frequency telecommunications terminals
  • 1880-1895MHz wireless private branch exchanges and radio terminals
  • LMDS (Local Multipoint Distribution Service) Microwave Base Station RF Equipment
  • Microwave Base Station RF Equipment Type Approval
  • Mobile Broadband Base Station RF Equipment
  • Mobile Telecommunications Terminal Equipment
  • Personal locator beacons
  • Type approval of small earth satellite base stations
  • Telecommunications terminals and POTS splitters for asymmetrical digital subscriber lines
  • Telecommunications terminal equipment and POTS splitters for very high-speed digital subscriber lines
  • Telecommunications terminal equipment for DS1 telecommunications
  • Telecommunications terminal equipment for fibre optic networks
  • Telecommunications terminal equipment for ISDN subscribers
  • Telecommunications terminal equipment for the public telephone network
  • Terminal equipment for fixed network communications Multimedia content transmission platforms

Without NCC certification, these products would be rejected by customs.

How does the NCC certification process work?

Like almost all wireless technology certifications in Asia, the NCC certification process is relatively simple and quick. Manufacturers must first have their products tested in Taiwan according to the relevant standard. Together with the resulting test report, the application can then be submitted.

If the application is approved, the manufacturers receive the certificate within a few weeks, along with the regulations on how the product is to be marked.

In summary, certification has four main steps:

  1. Conduct product testing in Taiwan.
  2. Submit application documents.
  3. Receive certificate.
  4. Mark the product.

In some cases (e.g. if it is technically not possible to mark the product because there is not enough space on it) it is not necessary to mark, but in principle all certified products must be marked with the NCC logo:

NCC logo (elevated design)

NCC logo (plain design)

Frequent mistakes

There are errors in the application documents

The NCC authority has formal requirements that must be observed.

The products do not comply with the standards

The NCC standards are very often based on international standards, especially IEC standards.

The products are not marked

There are a few exceptions, but in principle all products must be marked with one of the two NCC logos.

Further certifications from selected country

ITRI Certification

Art. 7 of the Occupational Safety and Health Act of the Republic of Taiwan stipulates that explosive products must be tested by an authority

Read More »

BSMI Certification

The Taiwanese Ministry of Economic Affairs (MOEA) describes in the Commodity Inspection Act the assignment of an authority for the formulation of quality standards

Read More »

VSCC Certification

The Ministry of Transport and Communications (MOTC) formally established the Vehicle Safety Certification Centre (VSCC) on 31 March 2009. The business scope of the

Read More »