Services by Country

AIS certification

AIS (Automotive Indian Standard) certification was first launched in 1989 with the publication of the Central Motor Vehicle Rules (CMVR). The aim was to improve the safety of traffic and means of transport. Currently, you can do the certification with one of several accredited semi-government agencies, but the government’s plan is to give more and more certifications to government agencies like the BIS.

Currently, 26 products such as brakes, tyres, carburettors, lamps and reflectors, batteries, seat belts, door locks, tanks and number plates must be certified with AIS. Products such as rims and glass can also be certified with AIS, but must be BIS certified in any case.
The certification process includes a factory inspection by Indian auditors, product testing, marking of the products, and requires some documentation.

The most important facts about AIS certification

Application documents
months minimum duration
minimum costs

What is the AIS certification for?

AIS certification includes both mandatory and voluntary standards. Under “Find Your Product” you can search for both types of standards or products, but the following overview already shows you the products that are compulsory:

  • Brake hoses
  • Horns
  • Tyres
  • Carburettors
  • Lights, bulbs and replaceable LEDs
  • Rear view mirror
  • Speed limiter
  • Seat belts
  • Reflectors
  • Warning triangles
  • Door locks and hinges
  • Tanks
  • Number plates
  • Windscreen wiper blades
  • Lead batteries
  • (Safety glass is now certified by BIS)
  • (Wheels are now certified by BIS)\

Thus, products listed above cannot be exported to India without AIS certification and would be rejected by customs. Since the certification takes several months, manufacturers of these products should therefore start the process early.

Please note that the central authority BIS (Bureau of Indian Standards) is expected to include more and more products in its own catalogue in the future, because the Indian government wants to standardise the entire certification market and manage it in a more centralised way. For this reason, glass and wheels certified with AIS until 2019 will be subject to mandatory BIS certification from 2020. Until now, existing AIS certificates could unfortunately not be converted into BIS certificates, but a renewed initial BIS certification must be undergone.

Every year on 1.4. or 1.10. news about standards or products are published so that manufacturers are not surprised by new certification obligations at irregular dates. In most cases there is a transition period for preparation before a new standard comes into force.

In addition to the mandatory AIS certified products listed above, OEMs can of course also require voluntary AIS certification for other products from their suppliers. Since this certification is independent of Indian customs, you as a manufacturer can fully comply with the OEM’s specifications here.

How does the AIS certification process work?

As described above, certification has 5 essential steps:

  1. Submit application documents
  2. Await audit date
  3. Carry out product testing either on site and/or in India
  4. Receive certification
  5. Mark

As in the BIS certification according to ISI, a relatively large number of documents are required. However, the focus in AIS certification is much more on the technical characteristics of the product and production. Nevertheless, some formal letters are also required.

A major advantage of AIS certification over BIS certification (ISI) is that factory inspections can also take place remotely, i.e. by video rather than in person on site. This can significantly speed up the duration of the certification.

Once the tests have been successfully completed and the certificate issued, you will receive the information on how to mark. With some exceptions (e.g. door locks and windscreen wipers), all products must be marked with either the TAC or the ISI logo (as is also the case with BIS certification according to ISI) in order to be accepted by customs.

Frequent mistakes

There are errors in the application documents

IS authorities (such as ICAT, ARAI) also have formal requirements that need to be followed.

Your Authorised Indian Representative (AIR) does not participate

Your AIR has many responsibilities himself. If he does not understand or take care of them, the certification cannot be done.

The products do not comply with the standards

Indian standards (AIS) are very often based on international standards, especially IEC standards.

The products are not marked

Some products do not need to be marked, but most need either the TAC or ISI logo.

Further certifications from selected country

BEE Certification

BEE certification was introduced in 2002 on the basis of the Energy Conservation Act 2001 of the Indian government in order to curb rising

Read More »

PESO Certification

PESO certification is India’s equivalent of ATEX or IECEx certification. Strictly speaking, one of the two certificates for explosion-proof products is required for successful

Read More »

BIS-ISI Certification (FMCS)

The Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) in India has two certification schemes for manufacturers: the Indian Standards Institute Certification Scheme (after the office’s original

Read More »