What does AIS stand for?

AIS is the abbreviation for “Automotive Indian Standard” and these standards are written by the Automotive Research Association of India (ARAI), a department in the Ministry of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises. There are a total of 233 published standards and 31 are currently still in draft form. New standards or changes to existing standards are always announced on 1 April and 1 September of each year to enable industry and manufacturers to follow them easily.

Who certifies AIS?

Certification to AIS is often called Type Approval Certification (TAC) and can be done with several accredited authorities in India. ERA Certification Group is in partnership with the accredited International Centre for Automotive Technology (ICAT) and is therefore well placed to assist you in your certification.

Which product groups are covered by AIS certification?

You can find a detailed list under AIS Certification and you can also search directly for the appropriate certification for your product under Find Your Product. In summary, the following product groups are certified with AIS:

  • Complete vehicles of any class
  • Safety number plates
  • Tanks
  • Rims for L-type vehicles
  • Windscreen wipers
  • Lead-acid batteries
  • LED lights
  • Warning triangles
  • Brake hoses
  • horns
  • Tyres
  • Light bulbs
  • rear view mirrors
  • Safety belt
  • Lamps and lights
  • reflectors
  • Locks

What is the AIS certification process for importing into India?

Although the AIS certification process is carried out by other authorities, the individual steps are very similar to the BIS certification: